

## City of Blaine Anoka County, Minnesota

Blaine City Hall 10801 Town Sq Dr NE Blaine MN 55449

## **Department Details**

Department name: City Council

Type: Primary Legislative Body

Meeting time: 7:30 PM

Meeting location: Council Chambers

Primary contact:

Description: As the elected representatives of the people, City Councilmembers comprise the policy-

making body of the City. The Council is composed of six members and the Mayor. Though voting equally with the other six members of the Council, the Mayor is the presiding officer at Council meetings and is the official representative of the City. Two Councilmembers are elected from each council ward on staggered four-year terms. The Mayor's position, a four-year term, is elected at large. The City is comprised of three council districts and 26 voting precincts. Elections are held each August and November in even-numbered years. The Councilmembers, as a body, implement all policies exclusively through the City Manager and, as individuals, neither perform nor interfere with any of the administrative work

themselves.

Name	Title	Start Date	End Date	
Julie Jeppson	Councilmember	1/1/2017	12/31/2024	_
Chris Massoglia	Councilmember	1/1/2021	12/31/2024	
Tim Sanders	Mayor	1/1/2021	12/31/2024	